[time-nuts] Clearest article yet on LightSquared's threat to GPS

Charles P. Steinmetz charles_steinmetz at lavabit.com
Sun Jun 5 02:02:25 UTC 2011

>FCC commissioners are appointed for 12 year terms.  I don't think the
>current president has had a chance to appoint one yet (?)

Commissioners are appointed for 5-year terms.

President Obama appointed three of the current/recent Commissioners 
(Chairman Genachowski and Commissioners Clyburn and Baker), and he 
reappointed Commissioner McDowell.   (Commissioner Baker just left 
the Commission to join Comcast.)

Commissioner Copps's term expired last June, but he is allowed to 
serve through the end of this Congress.  He is the only Commissioner 
who was not appointed or reappointed by President Obama.

Best regards,


More information about the time-nuts mailing list